In what turned out to be the most well attended and heated up annual general meeting (AGM) in the annals of Blantyre Sports Club (BSC) on November 29, Arthur Matekenya, a seasoned Banking professional, emerged victorious as the newly elected Chairman of BSC. There were only two contestants, Arthur Matekenya and Keta Mulwafu a former Vice Chairman of the club who lost by a whooping 44 against 22 votes. As is the tradition, both candidates reiterated their manifestos to the members, pointing out the unique ways in which they intended to contribute to the betterment of the club before delving into the key agenda of the day, election of new officer bearers.

Matekenya laid out his agenda for BSC in his tenure of office as membership growth, sound financial management, infrastructure development, excellent customer service, and staff welfare. He thanked the former Chairman Edward Kauka and his team for a job well done.

“Being a club Chairman is more than just a goal, it is a dedication to creating an environment that values innovation and constant progress”.

The new board members includes Justice John Katsala, Vincent Chimbelenga, John Gift Mwakhwawa, Sosten Chigalu, Natham Nkhata. Retained board members are Chikhu Mphatso, Sophie Kalambule, Keta Mulwafu, Borniface Chima and MacFord Ntambalika. Board members that retired are Gift Gondwe, George Fraser Chirwa, Bhose Kamphulusa and Madalitso Jonazi.